Five Stages of Polycystic Kidney Disease

Five Stages of Polycystic Kidney DiseaseSimilar to CKD, Polycystic Kidney Disease can also be classified into five stages. Knowing more info about it’s stages can not only delay the progression but also help patients live a healthy life.

And the 5 stages od PKD are as follows:

Occurrence stage

It’s a genetic disorder, the cysts are usually small in sizes, and it is not easy to be detected before the age of 20. But if someone is diagnosed with it in your family, an early routine physical examination can be very important.

Growth stage

Most of the patients were 30 to 40, and the cysts can increase at a repaid growth. In this stage, western medicine tend to symptomatic treatment, such as high blood pressure, etc. Actually, the treatment goal should focus on slowing down its growth speed.

Enlargement stage

Generally, when the cysts are larger than 4 cm, it was termed as third stage of PKD. Accompanied with constant enlargement, a range of clinical manifestations will occur, such as, back pain, hematuria, proteinuria, etc. And it is the critical period to protect renal function.

Cyst rupture stage

With the continuous enlargement of cysts, they are more likely to get ruptured under the role of external cause. Once it occurs, it is significant to prevent infections, sepsis, sharp decline of kidney function and so on.

Uremia stage

In this condition, patients may resort to dialysis or a kidney transplant to prolong their life expectancy.

The above are mainly on stages of Polycystic Kidney Disease. If you are presenting this abnormal sign, remember that we are always here to help. For detailed info, you can email us the test or click the Live Contact. Best wishes!

tag: Polycystic Kidney Disease Basics

Previous:Can Polycystic Kidney Disease be Cured

next:Exercises for People with Polycystic Kidney Disease

Leave a question or comment and we will try to attend to you shortly. Free medical answers from Professionals!